15-May-12, 5:55 AM | Philippine News Agency
MANILA, Philippines – President Benigno Aquino III has declared June 11, which falls on a Monday, as a special (non-working) day in the province of Rizal in celebration of its 111th Foundation Day.
The Chief Executive issued the declaration through Proclamation No. 377 signed by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr. on Thursday, May 10, to give the people of Rizal the full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.
The province of Rizal was created on June 11, 1901, by virtue of Act No. 137. It was composed of 19 towns of Manila, and 14 municipalities of Morong Politico-Military District or a total of 33 towns.
On Nov. 7, 1975, by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 824, the 12 most progressive towns of Rizal namely: Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Taguig, Parañaque, Pateros, Makati, Mandaluyong, San Juan, Malabon, Navotas, Pasig and Marikina were incorporated in the newly formed Metro Manila Area. The Metro Manila also included the town of Valenzuela (formerly of Bulacan), and the four cities of Manila, Quezon, Caloocan and Pasay.
At present, Rizal Province is composed of San Mateo, Rodriguez (formerly known as Montalban), Cainta, Taytay, Angono, Antipolo, Binangonan, Teresa, Morong, Cardona, Tanay, Pililla, Baras, and Jalajala.