by Richard Gappi
Ten Rizalenyos coming from various fields and professions were named most outstanding citizens of the province in a ceremony held at SM Event Center, Taytay, Rizal on June 19.
The Gawad Rizal awardees include Clemen Bautista, print and broadcast media; Agapito Caritativo, sports and youth; Engr. Reynaldo Carpio, business/construction; Dr. William Co, agriculture and business; Jose Jaime Enage, culture;

The recipients of Ten Most Outstanding Rizalenyos (Gawad Rizal)

Prof. Ligaya Tiamson-Rubin, literature; Sis. Adelina S. San Miguel, community service; Jose Dennis Teodocio, arts and entertainment; Prof. Lydia Cuevas Vicente, education; and Dr. Avelino DL. Zapanta, business and management.
The awarding coincides with the commemoration of the birth of our national hero Dr. Jose Rizal, after whom the province was named.

Broadcast journalist Clemen Bautista (right) of Angono, Rizal

UP emeritus professor Ligaya Tiamson-Rubin receives her award from Prof. Esguerra.

The award was presented by the Knights of Rizal and former Board Member and Provincial Administrator of the Province Virgilio Esguerra.

Esguerra chaired the Rizaleno Sulo Awards Group and acts as its publisher and chief editor.
The program also featured students of ICCT and Regional Lead School for the Arts who presented cultural performances.
(Photos by Patnubay Tiamson/Angono Tourism Office. For more photos, visit this link: